Skip to main content
Question

Remove or Supress data in a multi-company tenant

  • September 4, 2026
  • 2 replies
  • 11 views

I am selling the shares of one of my companies that are part of a multi-company tenant in Acumatica Australia (MYOB).   I know that cloning of the database to a new tenant is possible, but how is the data of my other companies permanently suppressed or removed in the Buyer’s copy, and vice versa in my new copy?

 

I am getting conflicting proposals from multiple official providers.

2 replies

nhatnghetinh
Captain II
Forum|alt.badge.img+13
  • Captain II
  • September 4, 2026

Hi ​@Axial 

I believe the safest approach is for the Seller to obtain a separate MYOB Acumatica licence/tenant and migrate the Companies that will remain with the Seller to this new environment.

The proposed approach is:

  1. Create a new MYOB Acumatica environment for the Seller.
  2. Migrate the Seller's Companies and required historical data from the existing multi-company tenant to the new environment.
  3. Fully validate and reconcile the migrated data to ensure that all required financial, operational, historical data, configurations and integrations are working correctly.
  4. Obtain formal confirmation/sign-off from the Seller that the new environment is complete and ready for operation.
  5. Only after successful validation, remove the Seller's Companies from the original tenant that will remain with the Buyer.
  6. The removal should follow an officially supported MYOB Acumatica procedure to ensure that the Seller's data is completely separated without affecting the Buyer's Company.

The final structure would be:

Buyer:
Original Tenant → Buyer's Company only

Seller:
New Tenant/Licence → Seller's Companies only

This approach provides a clear separation of data and significantly reduces the risk of deleting or losing the Seller's data before the migration is fully validated.

 

Best Regards,

NNT


  • Author
  • Freshman I
  • September 4, 2026

Many thanks for this suggestion @nhatnghetinh

I wasn’t aware of the delete Company process in MYOB.   How does this work?  

Does it erase all data, or just remove all access to the data (either way would work for me).   Would the Buyer be able to re-instate access to that data, if it is not purged?

And when we talk of migration, is that cloning of the Original to create the New or exporting to the New?

In the migration process, do all attachments follow the data or will they have to be separately extracted and stored elsewhere?