Skip to main content
Question

Is there a way to prevent the same technician from starting the same appointment that already has a log that's still In process ?

  • August 20, 2026
  • 2 replies
  • 36 views

Forum|alt.badge.img

Hi Everyone,

I have noticed that users are able to start an appointment more than once even if the previous log is still In process, this is not ideal because the user might end up tapping on the start button more than once thinking his logs aren’t being captured yet there, which causes inaccurate reporting, I have attached a screenshot with an example, in this case the user ended up starting the same appointment twice on the same date without noticing that his log was captured as twice in process and when he completed the appointment the next day, they were both completed at the same time.

I don’t know if it’s a bug or there’s a setting I am missing?

2 replies

mohammadnawaz51
Varsity I
Forum|alt.badge.img+7

@lorach 

Hi!There are settings under Service Order Types → Time Behavior that control what happens when the appointment is started, including options such as Start Logging for Services and Assigned Staff (If Any) and Start Logging for Unassigned Staff. Those settings can explain why logs are automatically created, but they do not appear intended to allow duplicate concurrent In Process logs for the same technician simply because Start was tapped twice.

The setting you are looking for is this one: “Start Appointment When Travel is Completed”:

 

This checkbox makes the system start the appointment automatically after the Arrive action. Probably, like other contributors mentioned, there are other automation settings on the service order type, that apart from starting the appointment will make the system register logs (Start Logging for Services and Assigned Staff (If Any) and Start Logging for Unassigned Staff), I advise you to turn those off too if you don’t want the Start action (start appointment) starts the logs for everyone. 

 


Forum|alt.badge.img
  • Author
  • Jr Varsity III
  • August 24, 2026

Hi ​@mohammadnawaz51 , thank you for your response.

Though these check boxes were turned off initially, because we want the users to start the log by themselves manually but the issue here is that, let's assume Technician A was assigned Appointment A, he will go ahead and start it at 11:41 which creates the intended first log, by users being users, for some reason he taps on start again without pausing his previous log, the system creates another log for same appointment A with a new start time of 11:42, so the appointment records two logs in process with two different start time, ideally I believe if technician A already has a registered log in process for appointment A, the system shouldn’t allow the user to registered another log unless the precious one is completed or paused.