Stock Item Changes

• 5 March 2024
  • 7 replies

Userlevel 1

I am new to Acumatica and I am looking to make a bunch of changes to stock items like base unit, valuation methods, Item class, etc. We are building out Acumatica iteratively.  This means we need to set things up a certain way.  As we build out the system, changes need to be made.

I am building out my strategy to draw down inventory, remove them from PO transactions, SO transactions, Quotations, etc.  I am not even sure if I have identified all the places that are impacted by these changes.  

It would be great to have a process that helped with this activity.

7 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge

I am new to Acumatica and I am looking to make a bunch of changes to stock items like base unit, valuation methods, Item class, etc. We are building out Acumatica iteratively.  This means we need to set things up a certain way.  As we build out the system, changes need to be made.

I am building out my strategy to draw down inventory, remove them from PO transactions, SO transactions, Quotations, etc.  I am not even sure if I have identified all the places that are impacted by these changes.  

Hello @u043,

You are correct the inventory needs to be zero before you make changes to valuation method and item class.  

We had a similar issue but could not wait for inventory to zero organically. I issued the inventory out by importing a spread sheet with the SKUs that needed to be changed. 

We ran an import scenario to update the valuation. 

We then exported the line items form the issue and received back the same inventory. 

Also if there are any pending transfers they will need to be closed before you make the changes. 

Userlevel 5
Badge

How many SKU’s do you need to update?

Userlevel 1

Hello @u043,

You are correct the inventory needs to be zero before you make changes to valuation method and item class.