Solved

linking data fields on different pages

• 28 November 2023
  • 15 replies

so, basically I have 2 different pages, both with a (vip checkbox) data field. one page is a customerClass and the second page is a customer page. the customer page is kind of an instance of the customerclass so when a record for customer is created, certain fields are already populated with information from the customer class. the vip checkbox is a custom field that i created and i want to know how i can link them so when the checkbox on customerclass is ticked, the customer records created take that value and tick its own vip checkbox. im new to acumatica so please explain in detail if you can

this is customer class,see the vip box on the right? if i tick that, when i generate a customer record, its vip box should already be ticked

this is the customer page. when i create a new record, the vip box should already be ticked if the customerclass vip box is ticked

icon

Best answer by darylbowman 4 December 2023, 14:07

View original

15 replies

Badge +11

What you want is to default the value of your custom field on Customers to the value of your custom field on CustomerClass. You could use a FieldDefaulting event to achieve this, but the easier option is to define a default value on the DAC field. This is similar to how your custom field definition should look on your DAC extension for Customer:

#region UsrCustomField2
[PXDBBool]
[PXDefault(typeof(SearchFor<CustomerClassExt.usrCustomField2>.
In<SelectFrom<CustomerClass>. Where<CustomerClass.customerClassID.IsEqual<Customer.customerClassID.FromCurrent>>>))]
[PXFormula(typeof(Default<Customer.customerClassID>))]
[PXUIField(DisplayName="Custom Field 2")]
public virtual bool? UsrCustomField2 { get; set; }
public abstract class usrCustomField2 : PX.Data.BQL.BqlBool.Field<usrCustomField2> { }
#endregion

The [PXDefault] attribute will search the customer class value that matches the current record’s customer class.