Solved

Workflow / Customization Project - Choose Customer by Location Address

Userlevel 3
Badge

In Field Service we mostly care about the service address, which would be the Customer Location address.  

We need to be able to have the user, in the Service Order screen, enter in an address and have the system match it to a customer record and populate the Customer field and the Location field with the match.  I am not a developer and would like to know if this is addressable either by a Workflow type customization. 

I have tried using Actions/Navigation:Search Records but the closest I have come is to allow a popup of the Customer Location GI.  This could possible work if the user could use the popup GI and search the address, select the customer and have it populate in the Customer field with the corresponding Location ID.

Any ideas or pointers would be great.  Thanks.

icon

Best answer by andrew15 24 February 2022, 23:30

View original

10 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +2

Sorry I can’t test this idea but what if the user did a search of the address in the Customer Locations List Screen (AR3030P1) and then clicked the Location ID to open the Customer Location (AR303020). If you added a customer Action in screen AR303020 to create the service order for that Customer with Location. That would get you your end result without too much customizing I would think.

Userlevel 3
Badge

That could certainly work, but I need the ideal solution that would not require a user to jump around from screen to screen.  The key is for them to be able to use just one screen, Service Orders.  I’ll give that some thought though...thanks.   

Userlevel 5
Badge +3