Skip to main content
Solved

External File Storage

  • Feb 21, 2025 10:11 PM UTC
  • 5 replies
  • 352 views
  • Translate All

Forum|alt.badge.img

Hi Community,

We are a PCS customer looking to migrate the files attached to Acumatica records to external (Azure) file storage.   

Question - when you restore your production environment down to a training instance and include attachments in the snapshot... if you delete a attachment in the training instance does that also delete in the production instance (assuming it is just a pointer to the file)?

Thanks,

Brett

Best answer by schneur96

When we moved to external file storage, I tested this as part of our review and can confirm that files will be removed. However, the blobHandler and file connection will still remain in the database where the file was originally uploaded.

View original

5 replies

Forum|alt.badge.img+3
  • Acumatica Support Team
  • Feb 21, 2025 10:20 PM UTC

Hello Brett, 

Hope you are doing well today, I reviewed this inquiry and found some information in the help documentation.

Here is the link if wanting to review! :) 

https://help.acumatica.com/(W(3))/Help?ScreenId=ShowWiki&pageid=26f06314-a929-472d-afb6-88fa4ad3fbd6


“If you created multiple companies in your Acumatica ERP instance and want to store file attachments out of the database in any of these companies, you need to configure an external storage provider for each company individually. It can be the same provider for all companies or a separate provider for each company.

By default, the system deletes a file in the external storage if a user deletes it in Acumatica ERP. A system administrator can disable the deletion of files in external storage by adding to the appSettings section of the web.config file the DisableDeleteOnExternalFileStorage key set to true.”

 

 

Translate

Forum|alt.badge.img
  • Author
  • Jr Varsity III
  • Feb 22, 2025 12:21 AM UTC

Thank!!!  This is the statement I wanted to confirm -

 

  • Testing and non-production environments: When you restore backups or snapshots to a non-production environment (when using an external storage solution), the file reference links will point to production storage. If you add or delete files during testing, you will affect the files in your production environment.
Translate

Forum|alt.badge.img
  • Pro I
  • Answer
  • Feb 24, 2025 2:29 AM UTC

When we moved to external file storage, I tested this as part of our review and can confirm that files will be removed. However, the blobHandler and file connection will still remain in the database where the file was originally uploaded.

Translate

Forum|alt.badge.img
  • Author
  • Jr Varsity III
  • Feb 24, 2025 12:16 PM UTC

​@schneur96 

Thanks for the additional info.   If you create a snapshot w/o attachments do they remove the pointers to the external files in the snapshot?

Thanks,

Brett

Translate

Forum|alt.badge.img
  • Pro I
  • Feb 24, 2025 12:36 PM UTC

I’m pretty certain, I never tested or looked.

The files when moved to a bucket in my case with Amazon S3 are stored with a object name of the blobHandler from the UploadFileRevision table. This same table holds the files on the BlobData field. The table is most likely is there and without attachments aspect.

 

Translate