Solved

Serial Number on Service Order

Userlevel 2
Badge

I am new to Service Management, so thanks a lot whoever can help

Tried to create an appointment to replace a component which is Serial Tracked. The setup for tracking requires to manually input the serial number on Usage.

However, when i try to complete the appointment, the system is generating an error due to the fact that it requires the Serial Number. Tried to key it on the appointment, but the system is telling me Serial number is not found and won’t let me to continue.

How should i record such instance?

Thanks

Angelo

icon

Best answer by Anacarina Calvo 11 May 2022, 16:50

View original

11 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +2

I mistakenly cleared my previous post. I don’t remember the exact question but I asked about the serial number already being entered.

Userlevel 2
Badge

Thanks for your quick reply.

When component was bought, Serial number was not defined (keyed in) during Receipting stage as it is required only on usage. I was assuming that Service Management will allow user to define the Serial Number for the first time (key it in) directly on the Appointment → Details Line for that component. 

Unfortunately it does not

The reason why we need it to be defined on Usage is  due to the fact that components come packed and the serial number is know only on installation.

The exact error i am recieving is ‘Error: Updating  'Appointment Item Detail' record raised at least one error. Please review the errors. You cannot complete this line, because the quantity on the Lot Serials does not match quantity on the line.’

Thanks

Userlevel 5
Badge +2

I haven’t had a chance to check but it may only work with manual entry when updated to a Sales Order and processed.

Userlevel 2
Badge

Hmm, thought so, but it would be incredibly cumbersome. don’t you think so?

Userlevel 5
Badge +2