Solved

How to get started with customizations

• 16 April 2021
  • 7 replies

I am new to Acumatica and our company is a customer.  I’m an experienced developer but I’m having trouble getting started with Acumatica customizations.  It doesn’t seem that our var has much experience with customizations so they have not been able to help me get my system setup correctly.  From what I’ve researched it seems that I must have a local instance of Acumatica installed on my local machine and that the database used in customizations has to be created using the Acumatica Framework Configuration Wizard.  We had previously setup a database and web site for development through Azure but I’m not seeing a way to use those now.  If someone can help me understand exactly what I need to do to get started with customizations it would be a great help.  

This is what I think I need to do:

1. Install Acumatica ERP on my local machine
  2. Deploy Acumatica Framework Tools
  3. Deploy New Instance of Acumatica Application Template or should I use the Deploy New Application Instance for Training Course?

Any guidance would help a lot.

icon

Best answer by Hughes Beausejour 16 April 2021, 19:53

• From what I’ve researched it seems that I must have a local instance of Acumatica installed on my local machine .

- This is not exact, all you need is a user login to the website which has the Customizer access rights. This right is required to open the Customization page in the website which is all that is required to create runtime customization.

• Deploy Acumatica Framework Tools and Deploy New Instance of Acumatica Application Template or should I use the Deploy New Application Instance for Training Course?

- The Framework Tools / Visual Studio Templates are pretty much deprecated and are not  necessary to create Acumatica customization. They are only optional extensions for the ASPX visual editor.
View original

7 replies

Here’s what I would do: