Solved

How to get started with customizations

Userlevel 2
Badge

I am new to Acumatica and our company is a customer.  I’m an experienced developer but I’m having trouble getting started with Acumatica customizations.  It doesn’t seem that our var has much experience with customizations so they have not been able to help me get my system setup correctly.  From what I’ve researched it seems that I must have a local instance of Acumatica installed on my local machine and that the database used in customizations has to be created using the Acumatica Framework Configuration Wizard.  We had previously setup a database and web site for development through Azure but I’m not seeing a way to use those now.  If someone can help me understand exactly what I need to do to get started with customizations it would be a great help.  

This is what I think I need to do:

1. Install Acumatica ERP on my local machine
  2. Deploy Acumatica Framework Tools
  3. Deploy New Instance of Acumatica Application Template or should I use the Deploy New Application Instance for Training Course?

Any guidance would help a lot.

icon

Best answer by Hughes Beausejour 16 April 2021, 19:53

View original

19 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +3

Here’s what I would do:

1. Create a local installation of SQL Server on the local machine.  You can get a developer edition at no cost.
  2. You will need to have a local instance of IIS installed as well.  The installation guide provides the guidance on configuring IIS for Acumatica.  There are quite a few settings that need to be correct for it to work correctly.