Solved

How to get primary key field value from RowInserted event

• 20 October 2021
  • 3 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +1

Hello, 

I’m new to Acumatica customisation so I’m looking for some pointers.

I want to write some data to a custom table when a new record is inserted into the SOShipLine table.

My custom table is similar to the SOShipLineSplit table with 3 primary keys of ShipmentNbr, LineNbr and PickNbr.

I want to enter data into my table when a new row is created in SOShipLine so I’m using the RowInserted event - SOShipLine_RowInserted(PXCache sender, PXRowInsertedEventArgs e).

I’ve found that in the RowInserted event I cannot get access to the field values for ShipmentNbr and LineNbr, I guess this is because the data hasn’t been submitted to the database yet. But without these values I cannot set the values for ShipmentNbr and LineNbr in may custom table either. 

I’ve tried quite a few idea to get the key values from the new record but I’m starting to think that perhaps I’m taking the wrong approach to this problem. Perhaps I’m using the wrong event, or maybe I should be looking to set up parent/child relationships between SOShipLine and my custom table. 

Any ideas are welcome.

Thanks

Steve

icon

Best answer by Gabriel Michaud 20 October 2021, 14:37

View original

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +10

Hi @stephenward03,

You are right, the field values are not yet available because the record hasn’t been physically inserted in the database at this point.

The good news is that you don’t need to deal with this logic yourself, as long as you set the necessary attributes on the DAC fields.